Central Africa

Central Africa is a region of Africa comprising the south of the Sahara, the east of the West African shield and the west of the Great Rift Valley.

Central African countries :

  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Gabon
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Central African Republic
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of the Congo
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Chad

According to the definition of the UN1, Central Africa includes the following countries: Angola, Cameroon, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of the Congo, Sao Tome -and-Principle and Chad. Malawi (at the time Nyasaland) and Zambia (at the time Northern Rhodesia) constituted from 1953 to 1963 – with Zimbabwe (at the time Southern Rhodesia) -, the Federation of Central Africa; they are therefore sometimes considered to be part of Central Africa. Burundi and Rwanda, formerly part of German East Africa, are sometimes considered to belong to Central Africa. The Economic Community of Central African States is made up of ten countries: the nine countries of the UN definition listed above, plus Burundi.