East Africa

East Africa is a region of Africa. It generally designates the countries of the Great African Rift Valley.

She understands : the countries of the Horn of Africa: Eritrea; Ethiopia; Djibouti; Somalia. South Sudan (border Sudan is sometimes added). the Great Lakes countries also part of the Great Rift: Kenya; Uganda; Tanzania; Rwanda; Burundi. the islands of the Indian Ocean (for some authors): Seychelles ; the Comoros ; Mayotte. The Mascarenes (Mauritius, Reunion). Madagascar, Malawi and Mozambique are sometimes also included in this area. Rwanda and Burundi, which border two regions, and former German colonies within German East Africa that have become French-speaking (historically for Rwanda, and for Burundi even today), are often attached to the Central Africa.