Southern Africa

Southern Africa is made up of all the territories located south of the African equatorial forest. It also includes the African islands of the southwest of the Indian Ocean around Madagascar (from the Mozambique Channel to Mauritius and Reunion), as well as the African islands of the southeast of the Atlantic Ocean. Primarily occupied by the Khoisan and then Bantu peoples, this region was the subject of several waves of European colonization which have left their mark in the drawing of the current political borders of the region. Since the 1980s, the rate of HIV infection has become particularly acute in southern Africa. Nevertheless, the economy of this region remains relatively robust, mainly thanks to the industrial power of South Africa, mining, petroleum extraction from Angola, and a favorable climate for agriculture.

Southern Africa’s countries:

  • South Africa
  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe